Posted on

Soo’s Spelling

patchy-sooWhy did I change the spelling of Sue for my Slaughtering Soo of the Sun Bonnet Quilt?!?

Well let me tell you…my manager’s name is Sue and I really like her as a person and disn’t want to use her spelling on my rather mean hearted quilt.  I have a half sister Susan and even though I haven’t seen her since I was like 12 I didn’t want to use her spelling since she is my sister…we in my family try not no name anything after anyone else unless it’s a child.  My mom had gotten 2 tree frogs when I was very young and named them after me and my cousin Eric…well they both died pretty quick…really sad…then there’s the steer on the farm named Gladys…My grandma wasn’t overjoyed with his name since that name was shared with her sister…thus the changing of the spelling.

If there are any readers, quilters or blog checker outers out there named Soo…No offence intended to you…I just had to change the spelling just enough to have it still mean the same thing just a different spelling!

 

Other spellings of Sue I veered away from:

Sioux

Sue

Suellen

Susan

Susanna

Susannah

Susanne

Susie

Susy

Suzanne

Suzette

Suzie

Suzy

About nanayane

Freshly middle aged mom of 3 daughters, my 'baby is in her 20s. Married (2011) to my sweet lima bean man Jim. Nana to my grandson Oliver and granddaughter Olivia. I quilt, make sock beasties, quilt and occasionally paint. I'm helping raise my grandchildren , love nature, and am Pagan with leanings towards Buddha and Hindu. So here's me...

Leave a Reply

